Will Reviews the Popular Cookie Diet

Yes folks, there is a “Cookie Diet.” I briefly review this diet program in this vid:


Is this for real you ask? Yes, I’m afraid so. As the man said “No one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public.” My video on The Cookie Diet and the ilk  briefly explains the drawbacks to such an approach to life long weight loss. Is the Cookie Diet the worst thing I have ever seen for weight loss plans? Sadly no, but its appeal to those who think they can cure their long term weight loss issues by eating cookies, is obvious. 🙄

People who want more in-depth information regarding what is really effective for long term weight loss should read my article The Big Picture of Permanent Weight Loss.


Tags:
18 Comments
  1. DirtyHarry 10 years ago

    I’m on the Walkers Crisps diet, I’m losing 10lbs of weight a week, it’s awesome.. now where the hell did my muscle go 🙂

  2. Robyn Booth 10 years ago

    How do people actually live on 800 calories? They obviously don’t get to the gym much or even do a brisk walk for any length of time, as they would have no energy for anything else after that.
    I met the owner of one of the diet cookie companies when he was visiting Australia last year. I had just done a comp, so was very lean. We had a very interesting discussion about dieting and the pros and cons of cookies, shakes and other meal replacements. Obviously I wasn’t going to change his way of thinking and he had bugger all chance of convincing me about the validity of these types of diets.

  3. David Gatz 10 years ago

    Will,
    This cookie diet and another recent fitness podcast I listened to made me start thinking. If weight loss is really just about calorie deficit and muscle gain is really just about calorie surplus coupled with a solid training routine, then why is the macronutrient ratio so important. What do I really stand to gain/lose by consuming a certain amount of protein, carbs, and fat? (other than the obvious health risks associated with diets high in fat…particularly saturated fats) This question has troubled me for a while. Your insight is much appreciated!

  4. Author
    Will Brink 10 years ago

    Robyn, they can’t live in 800 calories effectively. It’s unhealthy, screws up their metabolism, costs them the all important LBM, and so on. It’s a great way to screw yourself up, while making yet another company wealthy at your expense.
    David, it’s not just calories and macro nutrients do matter. Always have and always will. Total cals is also an essential part of the equation, but it’s not the only part of the equation. A good article to read is The Unified Theory of Nutrition
    http://www.brinkzone.com/articles/brinks-unified-theory-of-nutrition/

  5. David Gatz 10 years ago

    Thanks Will! That article was extremely informative. I’ve always felt I have better muscle gains and fat loss with a diet high in protein. However, the podcast I recently listened to was telling me that your body can only take in a certain amount of protein (somewhere in the neighborhood of 70-120 grams per day for most people) and that anything in excess of that is a waste of time and effort. I weigh 170 pounds and consume about 200-250 grams.
    This same podcast also told me that metabolism was not affected by fasting and called it the “metabolism myth”. This is when I really began to get skeptical. It is a shame that there is so much bad information out there, even from guys who claim to have done their “homework”!

  6. kevin 10 years ago

    Will, the ‘welcome’ video at the top suggests you’ve lost significant weight; thinner neck, more defined jawline. Have you been using the cookie diet? 😉
    kevin

  7. Author
    Will Brink 10 years ago

    Kevin, no, I think I’m about the same weight as usual as far as I know, but I don’t get on the scale very often. I go by my lifts and clothes: lifts are up, clothes seem about the same. If there are any cookies in my diet, they generally follow a nice big meal… 🙂

  8. Scott Irv 10 years ago

    Well, most of those gimmick programs are not really meant for people who are serious about weight loss or physical fitness. The gimmicks are marketed to those who do not want the truth, which usually involves discipline and effort, which too many people do not want to hear. What they want to hear is that they can have their cake and eat it, too, and another besides.
    “You can eat more and exercise less!”
    “You can eat your favorite foods as much as you want!”
    “You can eat cookies to lose!”
    “You can have a machine do it all for you!”
    And there are lots of people to market to. They are eager to believe and do not need persuaded. They are ready to accept what they want to hear, if only someone will tell them. The rest of us will require science, logic, reason, and facts, accompanied by some self-tough-love. We are willing to make permanent changes instead of having our ears tickled.
    Its an odd thing about truth and the pursuit of truth. Not many want any thing to do with it. Yet, oddly, it is that pursuit that usually renders so many benefits and results that those who ignore the truth do not experience. Truth lovers accept that they can not rely on or trust the medical profession and will take their own health care into their own hands.
    So they explore alternative therapies and enjoy healing and health, while the rest are killed off by the establishment sources.
    Truth seekers don’t look for someone else to pay for their health care or give them welfare. They know that if everyone goes on welfare, which since all our jobs have been exported, is all but certain, then there will be no money or welfare for healthcare or anything else for anyone else.
    But now they want to force us to buy insurance healthcare so that Insurance Companies can tell us how to spend our health care dollars and where, rather than we deciding for ourselves. They can deny coverage for anything truly useful, since we gave our money to them and let them dictate, since we hate freedom and choice, anyway. We love being slaves, though we say we are free. I think the facts say otherwise. Free people spend their money as they choose and are not forced to give it to anyone else.
    When times get tough, more people seek what sounds pleasant, which is usually fairy tales and the like. A sign of the times, I guess. I prefer a hard dose of bitter truth, myself. LIfe is not easy and does not give up anything without a fight. It should not be that way but it is. I deal with the realities, however unpleasant they are.

  9. Ana Estevez 10 years ago

    I had not heard about this cookie diet, and I couldn’t believe that your mail was serious… until I finished it. It is so sad how the marketing teases the very weakness of most people that wants to lose weight, a yummy cookie!!! just like the miracle ab machines that are for sale “no effort, no sweat, just 5 minutes a day” and of course, no abs and no muscle either.
    Thanks a lot for the information and the hones review.

  10. Author
    Will Brink 10 years ago

    Scott, that’s quite a range of topics you covered starting from the Cookie Diet! I think this sums it up well:
    Denial: Denial is a defense mechanism’ postulated by Sigmund Freud, in which a person is faced with a fact that is too uncomfortable to accept and rejects it instead, insisting that it is not true despite what may be overwhelming evidence…
    Ana, the search for the magic pill, the magic diet, the magic ab machine, etc, is alive and well, as you can see! A diet literally based on eating magic cookies seems like a skit from Saturday Night Live or something The Onion would do as a spoof, but it’s real! I don’t generally comment on the latest far diet, but I couldn’t resist this one.

  11. James S 10 years ago

    It’s real and has apparently been around since 1975… lol! So what’s for dinner tonight, honey oatmeal or choc chip?

  12. Scott Irv 10 years ago

    Will, you make a good point.
    BUt I thought I would add some stuff on the insurance issue since all
    health-medical-diet-fitness issues
    really boil down to human nature and some truth and everyone expects a free ride and entitlements. And despotic regimes always tell you what you want to hear so you will do what they say, and fall into the trap, losing all freedom and choice in the process.
    God, how I would like to avoid that. Have a nice day! 😉

  13. Mark Gonzales 8 years ago

    Is the supplement Jack 3d safe to take?

  14. weight loss 8 years ago

    You’ve got great insights about diet reviews, keep up the good work!

  15. Weight Loss Reviews and Tips 8 years ago

    You’ve got great insights about [weight loss information], keep up the good work!

  16. Weight Loss Reviews and Tips 8 years ago

    You’ve got great insights about weight loss information, keep up the good work!

  17. Weight Loss Reviews and Tips 8 years ago

    You’ve got great insights about best weight loss products, keep up the good work!

  18. Weight Loss Reviews and Tips 8 years ago

    You’ve got great insights about quick weight loss diet plan, keep up the good work!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

CONTACT ME

I'm not around right now. But you can send me an email and I'll get back to you soon.

Sending

©2019 Brinkzone.com

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?